Would I lie to you?

Of course I would if I thought I could get away with it.  Everyone lies.  Big lies, little white lies.  Dressing them up in white does not make them any better-I heard that in my favorite movie “Meet Me In St. Louis”.  So, I met my step-daughters boyfriend and one of the first things he did was lie to me.  I went to get in his car and it smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke.  I said “do you smoke?” and geared myself up to climb on my soap box in order to tell him what a filthy, disgusting habit it is.  His exact reply was “I USED to”.  Oh well, your car still stinks-go get it cleaned.  So my step-daughter and her roommate come home from Fall break and I was talking to the roommate about the boyfriend.  I asked her if she liked him and she said yes but he did some things that she did not like and I said “what?  his smoking?” and she said “yes” well the step daughter looked horrified.  I know a smoker when I smell one.  So, the step daughter couldn’t recognize the truth if you threw it in her face and now she has a liar for a boyfriend.  He called me to apologize and I told him “if you are man enough to smoke, don’t you think you should be man enough to tell the truth about it?”  I get dead silence.  I thanked him for his apology and hung up.  Of course my husband said I was hateful, which I probably was-that is my nature to be a hateful, unsociable person.  To top it all off, I think something is mentally wrong with the kid anyway-just my humble opinion.

Leave a Reply

